Choses à faire


TOP 10 CHOSES À FAIRE EN WESTPORT

Great Western Greenway

La voie verte traverse l'Irlande de la côte atlantique entre Westport et Achill Island et visite les villages pittoresques de Newport et de Mulranny. Elle passe par certains de l'Ouest des montagnes les plus spectaculaires d'Irlande et offre une vue magnifique sur la baie de Clew et ses nombreuses îles.
Plus d'info: www.greenway.ieou pour la location de vélos:  http://www.clewbaybikehire.ie/

Croagh Patrick

Croagh Patrick est situé à cinq miles de la ville pittoresque de Westport et la montagne’s forme conique s'élève majestueusement au-dessus de la campagne environnante. Magnifique vue sur la baie de Clew et ses environs Sud Mayo campagne sont à tirer de toutes les étapes de l'ascension de la montagne.
Plus d'info: www.croagh-patrick.com

Matt Molloy’s

Matt Molloy’s est le meilleur pub de Westport connue au Japon, Alaska, et probablement Tombouctou. Au cours de leurs tournées mondiales innombrables, Matt Molloy et l'illustre Chieftains ont apporté’s nom à un public vaste et varié, avec un avant-goût de la musique traditionnelle qui en découle – sombre, profonde et non pasteurisé, comme ses pintes…
Plus d'info: www.mattmolloy.com

Westport Music Festival

Aura lieu le samedi Juin 29 et dimanche 30 Juin 2013 à Westport House, Westport, Co. Mayo - Westport Music Festival 2013 est un rendez-vous incontournable pour votre agenda! Situé au cœur d'un superbe 400 Site hectares au cœur de la ville de Westport dans le Mayo, Westport Music Festival est une célébration annuelle de deux jours. Relever le meilleur rock local et international, Folk, celtique et sons acoustiques à travers plusieurs étapes, Westport Music Festival 2013 est un week-end pour tous.
Plus d'info: www.westportfestival.com

Clew Bay Heritage Centre

Situé dans un bâtiment du 19ème siècle, juste 2 kilomètres du centre historique de la ville de Westport,
Clew Bay Heritage Centre retrace l'histoire de la ville planifiée et la région de la baie de Clew avant l'ère chrétienne jusqu'à nos jours. Artefacts, documents et photographies relatifs à la région en général Westport fournir une base pour la présentation de l'histoire locale, coutumes et traditions..
Plus d'info: www.westportheritage.com

Golf

Westport possède une grande variété de parcs et de terrains de golf Liens pour répondre à tous les niveaux, des professionnels et des amateurs passionnés pour les novices.

Abbaye de Kylemore

A l'abbaye de Kylemore et Victorian Walled Garden, il ya tellement de choses pour toute la famille de profiter de. Visitez les salles restaurées de l'Abbaye et en apprendre davantage sur son histoire et les contes de la tragédie et de romance. Explorez l' 6 acres de jardin victorien clos avec ses magnifiques bâtiments restaurés. Découvrez les horizons boisés, rive du lac marche, sentiers de la nature et des enfants’s tout au long du sentier de jouer 1,000 succession acres.
Plus d'info: www.kylemoreabbeytourism.ie

Surf

Surf Irlande’occidentale de côte est une expérience que vous n'oublierez pas! Surf tandis que le soleil se couche sur l'île de Clare ou le partage de vagues avec les dauphins, Mayo est vraiment un endroit merveilleux pour naviguer.

Achill Island

De la randonnée et les activités de plein air à la pêche et la pêche, du golf, peinture ou à cheval au surf, planche à voile ou plongée sous-marine, votre visite à Achill pouvez être aussi actif que vous le souhaitez. Ou simplement vous détendre avec un café ou une bière et une vue sur l'île d'Achill’montagnes spectaculaires s, les falaises et les cinq plages drapeau bleu.
Plus d'info: www.achilltourism.com

Itinéraires de randonnée

Mayo a beaucoup à offrir à la fois la marche et les amateurs de cyclisme de sa grande partie intacte, campagne propre, paysages variés, paysage unique et riche patrimoine et le folklore de la marquer comme la marche et la destination idéale vélo. Mayo offre toutes sortes de pistes dont Montagne, Côtières et insulaires, Voies Vertes rurales et urbaines et sentiers en boucle nationaux.
Plus d'info: www.mayowalks.ie

Clare Island

Clare Island se trouve au large de la côte occidentale de l'Irlande à l'entrée de la baie de Clew. , il a un relief varié: falaises spectaculaires avec un grand nombre d'oiseaux de mer nicheurs et de riches ‘intérieur’ la topographie de collines et de tourbières et de petites poches de forêts, le rendant idéal pour les randonnées.

WESTPORT NOUVELLES

Sea Westport 2 Sommet Adventure Race

La course d'aventure Sea2Summit Westport est un événement unique basé dans la capitale de l'aventure de l'Irlande, Westport. La course aura lieu le Samedi 9 Novembre et intégrera toutes les sensations que Westport a à offrir, Croagh Patrick, Clew Bay, les montagnes Sheaffry et la nouvelle Greenway. Westport Sea2Summit est organisé et géré par la Westport Plaza & Castlecourt Hôtel Resort sous la direction du Directeur de Course, Brien Paul O 'de Boot Camp Ouest. Il y aura deux courses distinctes avec trois catégories à la fois qui comprendra un mélange de la course sur route, cyclisme, et une randonnée en montagne. Il se terminera par un petit parcours du combattant d'aventure et de course maritime à courte distance qui se compose d'un 100m à travers une ligne de rivage. pour plus d'info, allez sur:  http://www.westportsea2summit.ie/

My Ireland Tours

For tours of Ireland with specific themes check out My Ireland Tour. They are a family run business based in Cork and have been providing tours of Ireland for the past 26 years. For all tour details check their website here: www.myirelandtour.com

Westport Festival de coup de pied a commencé par Ballinrobe Band

Ballinrobe bande Quality Street a ouvert le Festival de Musique de Westport et de l'Alimentation, et il est juste de dire, ils sont toujours sur une bonne note. Le quatuor, composé de musiciens locaux Ailíse Burke, Mike Ansbro, Martin Farragher et Gerry Heneghan, pris à la scène principale le samedi du festival comme le premier acte de la fin de semaine.
Le groupe, qui ne sont pas encore un an, ainsi joué un jeu de signatures de chansons éclectiques, y compris certaines couvertures qui plaira et du nouveau matériel accrocheur, comme leur nouvelle chanson «Où aller». S'adressant aux Nouvelles Mayo après leur set, le groupe ont exprimé leur joie à l'occasion. Chanteur et guitariste Martin Farragher dit «il n'a pas encore coulé dans '.

Things To Do


TOP 10 THINGS TO DO IN WESTPORT

Great Western Greenway

The Greenway traverses Ireland’s Atlantic coast between Westport town and Achill Island and visits the picturesque villages of Newport and Mulranny. It passes by some of the West of Ireland’s most dramatic mountains and offers magnificent views of Clew Bay and its many islands.
More info: www.greenway.ie or for bike hire:  http://www.clewbaybikehire.ie/

Croagh Patrick

Croagh Patrick is situated five miles from the picturesque town of Westport and the mountain’s conical shape soars majestically above the surrounding countryside. Magnificent views of Clew Bay and the surrounding south Mayo countryside are to be had from all stages of the ascent of the mountain.
More info: www.croagh-patrick.com

Matt Molloy’s

Matt Molloy’s is the best known Westport pub in Japan, Alaska, and probably Timbuctoo. In the course of their innumerable world tours, Matt Molloy and the illustrious Chieftains have brought it’s name to a vast and varied audience, along with a taste of the traditional music that flows from it – dark, deep and unpasteurised, like its pints…
More info: www.mattmolloy.com

Westport Music Festival

Taking place on Saturday June 29th and Sunday June 30th 2013 in Westport House, Westport, Co. Mayo – Westport Music Festival 2013 is an essential date for your calendar! Set amidst a stunning 400 acre site in the heart of Westport town in Mayo, Westport Music Festival is an annual two-day celebration. Embracing the very best local and international rock, folk, celtic and acoustic sounds across multiple stages, Westport Music Festival 2013 is a weekend for all.
More info: www.westportfestival.com

Clew Bay Heritage Centre

Situated in a 19th century building, just 2 kilometres from the centre of the historic town of Westport,
Clew Bay Heritage Centre traces the history of the planned town and the Clew Bay area from pre-Christian times to the present. Artifacts, documents and photographs connected with the general Westport area provide a basis for the presentation of local history, customs and traditions..
More info: www.westportheritage.com

Golf

Westport has a wide variety of parkland and links golf courses to suit every level, from professionals and keen enthusiasts to novices.

Kylemore Abbey

At Kylemore Abbey and Victorian Walled Garden, there is so much for all the family to enjoy. Visit the restored rooms of the Abbey and learn about it’s history and tales of tragedy and romance. Explore the 6 acre Victorian Walled Garden with it’s magnificent restored buildings. Discover woodland walks, lake shore walks, nature trails and children’s play trail throughout the 1,000 acre estate.
More info: www.kylemoreabbeytourism.ie

Surfing

Surfing Ireland’s western coastline is an experience you will not forget! Surfing while the sun sets over Clare Island or sharing waves with dolphins, Mayo is truly an amazing place to surf.

Achill Island

From hillwalking and outdoor activities to fishing and angling, from golf, painting or horse riding to surfing, windsurfing or scuba diving, your visit to Achill can be as active as you like. Or just relax with a coffee or a pint and a view of Achill’s spectacular mountains, cliffs and five Blue Flag beaches.
More info: www.achilltourism.com

Walking Routes

Mayo has so much to offer both walking and cycling enthusiasts from its  largely unspoilt, clean countryside, varying landscapes, unique scenery and rich heritage and folklore mark it as the ideal walking and cycling destination. Mayo offers all kinds of trails including Mountain, Coastal and Island, Rural and Urban Greenways and National Loop Trails.
More info: www.mayowalks.ie

Clare Island

Clare Island lies off the west coast of Ireland at at the entrance to Clew Bay. The largest of the Mayo offshore  islands, it has a varied terrain: spectacular cliffs with large numbers of nesting sea birds and a rich ‘inland’ topography of hills and bogs and small pockets of woodland, making it ideal for hill-walking.

WESTPORT NEWS

Westport Sea 2 Summit Adventure Race

The Westport Sea2Summit adventure race is a unique event based in the adventure capital of Ireland, Westport. The race will take place on Saturday November 9th and will incorporate all the thrills that Westport has to offer, Croagh Patrick, Clew Bay, the Sheaffry Mountains and the new Greenway.  Westport Sea2Summit is organised and run by the Westport Plaza & Castlecourt Hotel Resort under the guidance of Race Director, Paul O ‘Brien of Boot Camp West.  There will be two separate races with three categories in both which will include a mix of road running, cycling, and a mountain hike. It will finish with a small adventure obstacle course and short sea run which consists of a 100m dash across a shore line. for more info go to:  http://www.westportsea2summit.ie/

My Ireland Tours

For tours of Ireland with specific themes check out My Ireland Tour. They are a family run business based in Cork and have been providing tours of Ireland for the past 26 years. For all tour details check their website here: www.myirelandtour.com

Westport Festival kick started by Ballinrobe Band

Ballinrobe band Quality Street opened the Westport Festival of Music and Food, and it’s fair to say, they’re still on a high. The quartet, made up of local musicians Ailíse Burke, Mike Ansbro, Martin Farragher and Gerry Heneghan, took to the main stage on the Saturday of the festival as the first act of the weekend.
The band, who are not yet a year, together played a signature set of eclectic songs, including some crowd-pleasing covers and catchy new material, such as their new song ‘Where to Go’. Speaking to The Mayo News after their set, the band expressed their glee at the opportunity. Singer and guitarist Martin Farragher said ‘it still hasn’t sunk in’.