Things To Do


TOP 10 Freizeitangebote in Westport DO

Great Western Greenway

Die Greenway Traversen Irlands Atlantikküste zwischen Westport und Achill Island und besucht die malerischen Dörfer von Newport und Mulranny. Es vergeht einige der Westen die meisten dramatischen Bergen Irlands und bietet einen herrlichen Blick auf Clew Bay und seine vielen Inseln.
Mehr info: www.greenway.ieoder für Fahrradverleih:  http://www.clewbaybikehire.ie/

Croagh Patrick

Croagh Patrick ist fünf Meilen von der malerischen Stadt Westport entfernt und den Berg der konischen Form erhebt sich majestätisch über die umliegende Landschaft. Herrliche Aussicht auf Clew Bay und die umliegenden Süden Mayo Landschaft sind von allen Stadien der Besteigung des Berges zu haben.
Mehr info: www.croagh-patrick.com

Matt Molloy die

Matt Molloy das ist das bekannteste Westport Pub in Japan, Alaska, und wahrscheinlich Timbuctoo. Im Laufe ihrer unzähligen Welttourneen, Matt Molloy und die illustren Chieftains haben seinen Namen einem riesigen und vielfältigen Publikum gebracht, zusammen mit einem Geschmack der traditionellen Musik, die aus fließt es – dunkel, tief und nicht pasteurisierte, wie ihre Pints…
Mehr info: www.mattmolloy.com

Westport Music Festival

Es findet am Samstag, 29. Juni und Sonntag 30. Juni 2013 in Westport House, Westport, Co. Mayo - Westport Music Festival 2013 ist ein wesentliches Datum für Ihren Kalender! Inmitten einer atemberaubenden 400 Hektar großen Gelände im Herzen der Stadt in Westport Mayo, Westport Music Festival ist eine jährliche zweitägige Feier. Umarmen Sie den besten lokalen und internationalen Rock, Folk, keltische und akustische Klänge über mehrere Stufen, Westport Music Festival 2013 ist ein Wochenende für alle.
Mehr info: www.westportfestival.com

Clew Bay Heritage Centre

Befindet sich in einem Gebäude des 19. Jahrhunderts, nur 2 km vom Zentrum der historischen Stadt Westport,
Clew Bay Heritage Centre zeichnet die Geschichte der geplanten Stadt und die Clew Bay aus vorchristlicher Zeit bis zur Gegenwart. Artifacts, Dokumente und Fotografien mit dem allgemeinen Westport Bereich verbunden eine Grundlage für die Präsentation der lokalen Geschichte, Bräuche und Traditionen..
Mehr info: www.westportheritage.com

Golf

Westport verfügt über eine Vielzahl von Parks und Links Golfplätzen jeder Ebene angepasst, von Profis und begeisterte Enthusiasten Novizen.

Kylemore Abbey

Am Kylemore Abbey und Victorian Walled Garden, es gibt so viel für die ganze Familie zu genießen. Besuchen Sie die restaurierten Räume der Abtei und lernen Sie die Geschichte und Geschichten der Tragödie und Romantik. Erkunden Sie die 6 acre Victorian Walled Garden mit seinen prächtigen restaurierten Gebäuden. Entdecken Waldspaziergänge, Seeufer geht, Naturlehrpfade und Kinderspielplatz Trail in der gesamten 1,000 Hektar großen Anwesen.
Mehr info: www.kylemoreabbeytourism.ie

Surfen

Surfen Irlands Westküste ist ein Erlebnis, das Sie nicht vergessen werden! Surfen, während die Sonne über Clare Island oder die gemeinsame Nutzung Wellen mit Delfinen, Mayo ist wirklich ein erstaunlicher Ort zu surfen.

Achill Island

Von Bergwandern und Outdoor-Aktivitäten zum Fischen und Angeln, von Golf, Malerei oder Reiten, Surfen, Windsurfen oder Tauchen, Ihren Besuch auf Achill kann so aktiv, wie Sie möchten. Oder einfach bei einem Kaffee oder einem Bier und einen Blick auf spektakuläre Berge Achill zu entspannen, Klippen und fünf Strände mit Blauer Flagge.
Mehr info: www.achilltourism.com

Walkingstrecken

Mayo hat so viel zu sowohl Wander-und Rad-Enthusiasten aus ihrer weitgehend unberührten bieten, saubere Landschaft, unterschiedliche Landschaften, einzigartige Landschaft und das reiche Erbe und Folklore markieren Sie ihn als die ideale Wander-und Rad-Destination. Mayo bietet alle Arten von Wanderwegen einschließlich Mountain, Coastal and Island, Rural and Urban Greenways und National Rundwege.
Mehr info: www.mayowalks.ie

Clare Island

Clare Island liegt vor der Westküste von Irland am Eingang zum Clew Bay. , es hat eine abwechslungsreiche Landschaft: spektakulären Klippen mit einer großen Anzahl von nistenden Seevögeln und eines reichen "Binnenfischerei’ Topographie Hügeln und Mooren und kleinen Taschen des Waldes, wodurch es ideal für Bergwandern.

Westport Nachrichten

Westport Sea 2 Summit Adventure Race

Die Westport Sea2Summit Adventure Race ist ein einzigartiges Ereignis in der Abenteuer-Hauptstadt von Irland Basis, Westport. Das Rennen findet statt am Samstag 9. November und enthalten alle den Nervenkitzel, dass Westport zu bieten hat, Croagh Patrick, Clew Bay, die Sheaffry Mountains und die neue Greenway. Westport Sea2Summit wird organisiert und durchgeführt von der Westport Plaza laufen & Castlecourt Hotel Resort unter der Leitung von Renndirektor, Paul O 'Brien von Boot Camp Westen. Es wird zwei verschiedene Rassen mit drei Kategorien sowohl in die eine Mischung aus Straße, umfassen wird, Radfahren, und eine Bergwanderung. Es wird mit einem kleinen Abenteuer Parcours und Short-Sea-run, die aus einem 100m dash besteht über eine Uferlinie beenden. für weitere Informationen zu gehen:  http://www.westportsea2summit.ie/

My Ireland Tours

For tours of Ireland with specific themes check out My Ireland Tour. They are a family run business based in Cork and have been providing tours of Ireland for the past 26 years. For all tour details check their website here: www.myirelandtour.com

Westport Festival Kick begann von Ballinrobe Band

Ballinrobe Band Quality Street öffnete die Westport Festival für Musik und Essen, und es ist fair zu sagen,, sie sind immer noch auf einem hohen. Das Quartett, up von lokalen Musikern Ailíse Burke, Mike Ansbro, Martin Farragher und Gerry Heneghan, nahm der Hauptbühne am Samstag des Festivals als der erste Akt des Wochenendes.
Die Band, die noch nicht ein Jahr, zusammen spielte eine Signatur Satz von eklektischen Songs, darunter auch einige demagogische Abdeckungen und eingängigen neues Material, wie ihren neuen Song "Where to Go '. Im Gespräch mit der Mayo Nachrichten nach ihrer Satz, die Band brachten ihre Freude über die Möglichkeit,. Sänger und Gitarrist Martin Farragher sagte: "es ist immer noch nicht in versenkt '.

Things To Do


TOP 10 THINGS TO DO IN WESTPORT

Great Western Greenway

The Greenway traverses Ireland’s Atlantic coast between Westport town and Achill Island and visits the picturesque villages of Newport and Mulranny. It passes by some of the West of Ireland’s most dramatic mountains and offers magnificent views of Clew Bay and its many islands.
More info: www.greenway.ie or for bike hire:  http://www.clewbaybikehire.ie/

Croagh Patrick

Croagh Patrick is situated five miles from the picturesque town of Westport and the mountain’s conical shape soars majestically above the surrounding countryside. Magnificent views of Clew Bay and the surrounding south Mayo countryside are to be had from all stages of the ascent of the mountain.
More info: www.croagh-patrick.com

Matt Molloy’s

Matt Molloy’s is the best known Westport pub in Japan, Alaska, and probably Timbuctoo. In the course of their innumerable world tours, Matt Molloy and the illustrious Chieftains have brought it’s name to a vast and varied audience, along with a taste of the traditional music that flows from it – dark, deep and unpasteurised, like its pints…
More info: www.mattmolloy.com

Westport Music Festival

Taking place on Saturday June 29th and Sunday June 30th 2013 in Westport House, Westport, Co. Mayo – Westport Music Festival 2013 is an essential date for your calendar! Set amidst a stunning 400 acre site in the heart of Westport town in Mayo, Westport Music Festival is an annual two-day celebration. Embracing the very best local and international rock, folk, celtic and acoustic sounds across multiple stages, Westport Music Festival 2013 is a weekend for all.
More info: www.westportfestival.com

Clew Bay Heritage Centre

Situated in a 19th century building, just 2 kilometres from the centre of the historic town of Westport,
Clew Bay Heritage Centre traces the history of the planned town and the Clew Bay area from pre-Christian times to the present. Artifacts, documents and photographs connected with the general Westport area provide a basis for the presentation of local history, customs and traditions..
More info: www.westportheritage.com

Golf

Westport has a wide variety of parkland and links golf courses to suit every level, from professionals and keen enthusiasts to novices.

Kylemore Abbey

At Kylemore Abbey and Victorian Walled Garden, there is so much for all the family to enjoy. Visit the restored rooms of the Abbey and learn about it’s history and tales of tragedy and romance. Explore the 6 acre Victorian Walled Garden with it’s magnificent restored buildings. Discover woodland walks, lake shore walks, nature trails and children’s play trail throughout the 1,000 acre estate.
More info: www.kylemoreabbeytourism.ie

Surfing

Surfing Ireland’s western coastline is an experience you will not forget! Surfing while the sun sets over Clare Island or sharing waves with dolphins, Mayo is truly an amazing place to surf.

Achill Island

From hillwalking and outdoor activities to fishing and angling, from golf, painting or horse riding to surfing, windsurfing or scuba diving, your visit to Achill can be as active as you like. Or just relax with a coffee or a pint and a view of Achill’s spectacular mountains, cliffs and five Blue Flag beaches.
More info: www.achilltourism.com

Walking Routes

Mayo has so much to offer both walking and cycling enthusiasts from its  largely unspoilt, clean countryside, varying landscapes, unique scenery and rich heritage and folklore mark it as the ideal walking and cycling destination. Mayo offers all kinds of trails including Mountain, Coastal and Island, Rural and Urban Greenways and National Loop Trails.
More info: www.mayowalks.ie

Clare Island

Clare Island lies off the west coast of Ireland at at the entrance to Clew Bay. The largest of the Mayo offshore  islands, it has a varied terrain: spectacular cliffs with large numbers of nesting sea birds and a rich ‘inland’ topography of hills and bogs and small pockets of woodland, making it ideal for hill-walking.

WESTPORT NEWS

Westport Sea 2 Summit Adventure Race

The Westport Sea2Summit adventure race is a unique event based in the adventure capital of Ireland, Westport. The race will take place on Saturday November 9th and will incorporate all the thrills that Westport has to offer, Croagh Patrick, Clew Bay, the Sheaffry Mountains and the new Greenway.  Westport Sea2Summit is organised and run by the Westport Plaza & Castlecourt Hotel Resort under the guidance of Race Director, Paul O ‘Brien of Boot Camp West.  There will be two separate races with three categories in both which will include a mix of road running, cycling, and a mountain hike. It will finish with a small adventure obstacle course and short sea run which consists of a 100m dash across a shore line. for more info go to:  http://www.westportsea2summit.ie/

My Ireland Tours

For tours of Ireland with specific themes check out My Ireland Tour. They are a family run business based in Cork and have been providing tours of Ireland for the past 26 years. For all tour details check their website here: www.myirelandtour.com

Westport Festival kick started by Ballinrobe Band

Ballinrobe band Quality Street opened the Westport Festival of Music and Food, and it’s fair to say, they’re still on a high. The quartet, made up of local musicians Ailíse Burke, Mike Ansbro, Martin Farragher and Gerry Heneghan, took to the main stage on the Saturday of the festival as the first act of the weekend.
The band, who are not yet a year, together played a signature set of eclectic songs, including some crowd-pleasing covers and catchy new material, such as their new song ‘Where to Go’. Speaking to The Mayo News after their set, the band expressed their glee at the opportunity. Singer and guitarist Martin Farragher said ‘it still hasn’t sunk in’.